| |
maritimer Noogle

Joined: 07 Oct 2005
1060.80 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:05 am Post subject: Gmail cash prize |
|
|
|
Here`s a new one, and am I to assume Gmail is not giving out random cash prizes to it`s members? | Quote: | CONGRATULATIONS!
YOU WON $500! Gmail gives members random cash prizes. Today, your account is randomly selected as the one of 12 top winners accounts who will get cash prizes from us. Please click the link below and follow instructions on our web site. Your money will be paid directly to your e-gold, PayPal, StormPay or MoneyBookers account. Click here to get your prize: |
Header info | Quote: | | From: Gmail.com <admin@gmail.com> | Mailed-By: server15.go-mama-hosting.com |
To: Gmail Winners <gmail-winners@gmail.com> Date: Jul 1, 2006 1:16 PM Subject: YOU WON $500! Gmail congratulates you! |
and there`s a gmail.com link that takes you to an area where you add your payment options. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
andrew247 Feel the Power


Joined: 18 Oct 2005 Location: c:\GoogleCommunity 88888.75 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
I'm pretty sure Gmail doesn't use "go-mama-hosting.com".  _________________ Football Rumours | Gloog |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
darrenstraight Site Admin & Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Jul 2004 Location: England 173385.09 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
Never seen this before but it's clearly fake, what was the link url anyway, don't post it here though, pm it to me, thanks. _________________ My Blog | Microsoft Discussion |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
IamTheKing9 Google God


Joined: 22 Sep 2005 Location: Mumbai, India 76977.45 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
I'm sure that if it was real, the From: field would have been something like gmail-noreply instead of admin. Plus, Google would write something like "reciepents undisclosed" in the To: field. And I don't suppose sending an e-mail to gmail-winners@gmail.com forwards the same message to twelve random Gmail accounts.  _________________
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
maritimer Noogle

Joined: 07 Oct 2005
1060.80 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 4:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
Just for fun, I decided to click on the link which led me to a framed page pertaining to be gmail, but it was inside a member.tripod page. Anyways, after entering an old paypal address I don`t use. You then have to sign up for this, sign up for that bla bla. After outlaying close to 30 bucks, they then release your 500 dollars  I bet someone would be stupid enough!! |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
Manny08252000 Noogle

Joined: 02 Jul 2006 Location: Florida 109.05 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 3:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
I got the same email. I click on it and it said you had to sign up for something called "Gmail Games" That was a total of $8.60 and it said when you sign up for it then you would recievce your payment. So hopefully it is real because I could use the money but I won't put my information on it just yet until gmail says that it is real. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
syed1994 Googler

Joined: 21 Oct 2005 Location: In The World 2184.25 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
A fake. If GMail wanted to give free money, then why they just make a competition on Google AdSense or AdWords _________________ From,
Syed Abdullah
PHP,MySql,HTML and C++ programmer. |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
sirlaguna Wheres My Hat


Joined: 09 Aug 2005 Location: England 3726.25 GC$
Items
|
|
| Back to top |
|
|
scoty_and Noogle

Joined: 08 Nov 2005 Location: You Kn0w Thats ! 12.30 GC$
Items
|
|
| Back to top |
|
|
andrew247 Feel the Power


Joined: 18 Oct 2005 Location: c:\GoogleCommunity 88888.75 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
| Quote: | | spam, using php mailer |
Why does it have to be PHP mailer?  _________________ Football Rumours | Gloog |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
peterk Googler

Joined: 21 May 2006 Location: Scotland 2336.40 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 4:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
I also got something like that a couple of weeeks ago!
Its obviously fake because if it was real google would have publicised it more. _________________ My sites:
bnicto
inclickfo |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
andrew247 Feel the Power


Joined: 18 Oct 2005 Location: c:\GoogleCommunity 88888.75 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 11:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
| Quote: | | if it was real google would have publicised it more. |
Not necessarily.
Google are infamous for keeping things secret. _________________ Football Rumours | Gloog |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
cruocitae The Psychohistorist


Joined: 05 Mar 2006 Location: Terminus 2402.75 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 1:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
It's definitely scam. Look at that design, and compare it to google's usual designs. That disgusting red heading and everything. Google has other ways of telling that you won something.. but I don't think they're giving away randomly thousands of dollars for nothing. _________________ "Circles have no end!"
-- Arkady Darrell |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
andrew247 Feel the Power


Joined: 18 Oct 2005 Location: c:\GoogleCommunity 88888.75 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
| Quote: | | It's definitely scam. Look at that design, and compare it to google's usual designs. That disgusting red heading and everything. Google has other ways of telling that you won something.. but I don't think they're giving away randomly thousands of dollars for nothing. |
Yes, but I still think the biggest giveaway is the go-mama-hosting.com.  _________________ Football Rumours | Gloog |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
d6rth7ader Noogle

Joined: 10 Jul 2006
92.15 GC$
Items
|
Posted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:40 pm Post subject: Re: Gmail cash prize |
|
|
|
| maritimer wrote: | Here`s a new one, and am I to assume Gmail is not giving out random cash prizes to it`s members? | Quote: | CONGRATULATIONS!
YOU WON $500! Gmail gives members random cash prizes. Today, your account is randomly selected as the one of 12 top winners accounts who will get cash prizes from us. Please click the link below and follow instructions on our web site. Your money will be paid directly to your e-gold, PayPal, StormPay or MoneyBookers account. Click here to get your prize: |
Header info | Quote: | | From: Gmail.com <admin@gmail.com> | Mailed-By: server15.go-mama-hosting.com |
To: Gmail Winners <gmail-winners@gmail.com> Date: Jul 1, 2006 1:16 PM Subject: YOU WON $500! Gmail congratulates you! |
and there`s a gmail.com link that takes you to an area where you add your payment options. |
Looks like a scam spam. 
_________________ article submission | isulong seoph
article directory | ezine |
|
| Back to top |
|
|
Sponsored Links
|
Posted: 7 Sep 2008 3:33 pm Post subject: Advertisements |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Back to top |
|
|