Google Community Chat
 
Gmail cash prize
Goto page 1, 2  Next
You're visiting Google Community as a guest.
In order to post, you'll need to register and log in.

(If you were registered and logged in, these advertisements wouldn't be here)
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Google Community Forum Index // Gmail Forum
   
Author Message
maritimer
Noogle
Noogle


Joined: 07 Oct 2005

1060.80 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:05 am    Post subject: Gmail cash prize Reply with quote
Here`s a new one, and am I to assume Gmail is not giving out random cash prizes to it`s members?
 
Quote:
CONGRATULATIONS!

YOU WON $500!


Gmail gives members random cash prizes. Today, your account is randomly selected as the one of 12 top winners accounts who will get cash prizes from us. Please click the link below and follow instructions on our web site. Your money will be paid directly to your e-gold, PayPal, StormPay or MoneyBookers account.

Click here to get your prize:

 
Header info
Quote:
From: Gmail.com <admin@gmail.com> Mailed-By: server15.go-mama-hosting.com
To: Gmail Winners <gmail-winners@gmail.com>
Date: Jul 1, 2006 1:16 PM
Subject: YOU WON $500! Gmail congratulates you!
 
 
and there`s a gmail.com link that takes you to an area where you add your payment options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrew247
Feel the Power
Google Guru


Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Location: c:\GoogleCommunity
88888.75 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm pretty sure Gmail doesn't use "go-mama-hosting.com". Wink
_________________
Football Rumours | Gloog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Google Talk
darrenstraight
Site Admin & Platinum Member
Site Admin & Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Location: England
173385.09 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Never seen this before but it's clearly fake, what was the link url anyway, don't post it here though, pm it to me, thanks.
_________________
My Blog | Microsoft Discussion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
IamTheKing9
Google God
Google Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Location: Mumbai, India
76977.45 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm sure that if it was real, the From: field would have been something like gmail-noreply instead of admin. Plus, Google would write something like "reciepents undisclosed" in the To: field. And I don't suppose sending an e-mail to gmail-winners@gmail.com forwards the same message to twelve random Gmail accounts. Wink
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Google Talk
maritimer
Noogle
Noogle


Joined: 07 Oct 2005

1060.80 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just for fun, I decided to click on the link which led me to a framed page pertaining to be gmail, but it was inside a member.tripod page.
 
Anyways, after entering an old paypal address I don`t use. You then have to sign up for this, sign up for that bla bla. After outlaying close to 30 bucks, they then release your 500 dollars Very Happy I bet someone would be stupid enough!!
 
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manny08252000
Noogle
Noogle


Joined: 02 Jul 2006
Location: Florida
109.05 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got the same email. I click on it and it said you had to sign up for something called "Gmail Games" That was a total of $8.60 and it said when you sign up for it then you would recievce your payment. So hopefully it is real because I could use the money but I won't put my information on it just yet until gmail says that it is real.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
syed1994
Googler
Googler


Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Location: In The World
2184.25 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
A fake. If GMail wanted to give free money, then why they just make a competition on Google AdSense or AdWords
_________________
From,
Syed Abdullah
PHP,MySql,HTML and C++ programmer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
sirlaguna
Wheres My Hat
Master Googler


Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Location: England
3726.25 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
You should send it to Google with a note on it explaining that it's a fake & that someone is pretending to be Gmail admin!

_________________

MSN Info Blog
Search Engine Optimization Company
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scoty_and
Noogle
Noogle


Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Location: You Kn0w Thats !
12.30 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
spam, using php mailer
_________________
http://www.a-pradana.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
andrew247
Feel the Power
Google Guru


Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Location: c:\GoogleCommunity
88888.75 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
spam, using php mailer

Why does it have to be PHP mailer? Wink
_________________
Football Rumours | Gloog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Google Talk
peterk
Googler
Googler


Joined: 21 May 2006
Location: Scotland
2336.40 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also got something like that a couple of weeeks ago!

Its obviously fake because if it was real google would have publicised it more.
_________________
My sites:
bnicto
inclickfo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andrew247
Feel the Power
Google Guru


Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Location: c:\GoogleCommunity
88888.75 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
if it was real google would have publicised it more.

Not necessarily.
Google are infamous for keeping things secret.
_________________
Football Rumours | Gloog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Google Talk
cruocitae
The Psychohistorist
Master Googler


Joined: 05 Mar 2006
Location: Terminus
2402.75 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's definitely scam. Look at that design, and compare it to google's usual designs. That disgusting red heading and everything. Google has other ways of telling that you won something.. but I don't think they're giving away randomly thousands of dollars for nothing.
_________________
"Circles have no end!"
-- Arkady Darrell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Google Talk
andrew247
Feel the Power
Google Guru


Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Location: c:\GoogleCommunity
88888.75 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
It's definitely scam. Look at that design, and compare it to google's usual designs. That disgusting red heading and everything. Google has other ways of telling that you won something.. but I don't think they're giving away randomly thousands of dollars for nothing.

Yes, but I still think the biggest giveaway is the go-mama-hosting.com. Razz
_________________
Football Rumours | Gloog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Google Talk
d6rth7ader
Noogle
Noogle


Joined: 10 Jul 2006

92.15 GC$

Items

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Gmail cash prize Reply with quote
maritimer wrote:
Here`s a new one, and am I to assume Gmail is not giving out random cash prizes to it`s members?
 
Quote:
CONGRATULATIONS!

YOU WON $500!


Gmail gives members random cash prizes. Today, your account is randomly selected as the one of 12 top winners accounts who will get cash prizes from us. Please click the link below and follow instructions on our web site. Your money will be paid directly to your e-gold, PayPal, StormPay or MoneyBookers account.

Click here to get your prize:

 
Header info
Quote:
From: Gmail.com <admin@gmail.com> Mailed-By: server15.go-mama-hosting.com
To: Gmail Winners <gmail-winners@gmail.com>
Date: Jul 1, 2006 1:16 PM
Subject: YOU WON $500! Gmail congratulates you!
 
 
and there`s a gmail.com link that takes you to an area where you add your payment options.


Looks like a scam spam. Smile

_________________
article submission | isulong seoph
article directory | ezine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sponsored Links
Posted: 5 Sep 2008 2:50 am    Post subject: Advertisements
Back to top
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Google Community Forum Index // Gmail Forum All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Host your free forums with Invision Plus.net forum web hosting with your own subdomain.

alexisBlue v1.2 // Theme Created By: Andrew Charron // Icons in Part By: Travis Carden

© 2005-2006 Google Community

Powered by phpBB

Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Powered by Google Search blog

This website is not affiliated in any way with Google, Inc.
Google™ is a registered trademark of Google, Inc.