Google Community
Latest Forums Rules Resources
Custom Search

Go Back   Google Community > Google Forums > All About Google

GoogleCommunity Sponsor
Cirtex Hosting
Use coupon "forum" for 50% Off!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2005, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Noogle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
duccodude
Send a message via AIM to duccodude Send a message via MSN to duccodude Send a message via Yahoo to duccodude
Google Is Not Configured??

Hello google community,
sorry if this is already posted but i have a problem. whenever i try to log onto google.com or gmail, theres a page claiming to be Cpanel and it says that "there is nothing configured at this adress". Also my Yahoo.com is also messed up. whenever i log onto that, it redirects to some naughty page. I checked for spyware with almost everything and i tryed hyjack this but it does not help. Please can some one help me?!?!?! i am so sick of using ask.com

Thank you for your time,
Damieon G.
duccodude is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Sponsored Links
Old 11-08-2005, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Google Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC.
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
mondine is an unknown quantity at this point
It does sound like some kind of malware infection. Have you tried Spybot S&D and AdAware?

The trouble with some infections is that they can disable protection you already have, and block some sites altogether.
Maybe, try one of the online scans, like:
http://uk.trendmicro-europe.com/cons...all_launch.php
__________________
mondine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Noogle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
duccodude
Send a message via AIM to duccodude Send a message via MSN to duccodude Send a message via Yahoo to duccodude
yes i have tried S&D already, and i just finished with House Call but it had no spyware...man i am really bummed out.
duccodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Google Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC.
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
mondine is an unknown quantity at this point
Have you cleared your cookies, cache and history?
Possibly, autocomplete entries as well.
If you use a Hosts file, better have a look at that, too.
__________________
mondine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 03:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Elite Googler
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,065
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lupine1647
Any Windows user has a HOSTS file and any piece of software can manipulate it. Just clear it out If you find anything in there. As well, also try Ad-Aware and MS Anti-Spyware as one anti-spyware program won't find it all.
Lupine1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Google Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC.
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
mondine is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupine1647
Any Windows user has a HOSTS file and any piece of software can manipulate it. Just clear it out If you find anything in there.
Not quite so. I can't speak for later systems, but my Win98 came with a Hosts-sam only. I had to create an actual Hosts file.
Plus, I use it to block some sites by directing them to localhost.
This is a common method of preventing redirection to some known sites. In fact, some spyware prevention programs
like the very good freeware SpywareBlaster also work by making entries to this file.
That's why I asked if he used one, instead of just saying "clear it out".
__________________
mondine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Elite Googler
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,065
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lupine1647
The functionality is still there, Just because the file isn't there doesn't mean Microsoft isn't doing anything that the eye can't see. On ME and 98 systems the HOSTS file will be in C:\WINDOWS

Again, any little spyware program can modify this file OR create it in your case to manipulate what is going on. And if by chance you're still using 95, I seriously think you should just set that system on Fire.

But either way, if you PUT entries in there then keep them, however MOST Internet users don't know all of the Windows files of the sort and when an issue of this sort arises you don't know what specific thing it's going to be so just clear it out. And Hey, while were on the topic, you should keep a backup of it anyways like any other file on your system.
Lupine1647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Noogle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
duccodude
Send a message via AIM to duccodude Send a message via MSN to duccodude Send a message via Yahoo to duccodude
Sorry but im a little clueless. Ok so i am supposed to delete my host files right? if so how?? sorry if i am wasting your time guys. oh yeah i have a windows xp.
duccodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 05:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Google Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC.
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
mondine is an unknown quantity at this point
If you're concerned about it, you can open it, select all, and delete the contents.
But I suggest you have a look at it first. There's no real mystery.
You see what sites are entered. If the site is beside the entry "127.0.0.1", it means that attempts to reach that site are redirected back to your own computer, or effectively blocked.
For example, here are my entries that prevent redirection to some 'doubleclick' sites:
127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.0.1 www.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 m.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 phase2media.doubleclick.net

Now, some malware might add something like:
(google IP address) (malware IP address)
that would redirect Google to its own site.
If something is unknown, you can do a'Whois' search by IP, or just delete the entry.
__________________
mondine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 06:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Noogle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
duccodude
Send a message via AIM to duccodude Send a message via MSN to duccodude Send a message via Yahoo to duccodude
hmmm.. i see. but how do you get to the host file or whichever to delete those stuff. Sorry im kind of a dummy when it comes to computers :P
duccodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPS Hosting Pre-configured with LIGHTTPD bradlee Offers and Requests 0 09-21-2006 05:56 AM
Google Is Not Configured?? duccodude All About Google 16 01-01-1970 09:59 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0
© 2004–2007 Google Community