Google Community
Latest Forums Rules Resources
Custom Search

Go Back   Google Community > Google Forums > Gmail Forum

GoogleCommunity Sponsor
Cirtex Hosting
Use coupon "forum" for 50% Off!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2006, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Noogle
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
maritimer
Gmail cash prize

Here`s a new one, and am I to assume Gmail is not giving out random cash prizes to it`s members?

Quote:
[b]FONT color=#dd6600 size=5CONGRATULATIONS!

/FONTSPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 21px; FONT-FAMILY: Arial"FONT color=#ff0000YOU WON $500!/FONT[/color]/[b]SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 21px; FONT-FAMILY: Arial" [/color]

FONT face="Arial Cyr" color=#124282 size=2PSPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 13px; FONT-FAMILY: Arial"Gmail gives members random cash prizes. Today, your account is randomly selected as the one of 12 top winners accounts who will get cash prizes from us. Please click the link below and follow instructions on our web site. Your money will be paid directly to your e-gold, PayPal, StormPay or MoneyBookers account.[/color]PSPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 13px; FONT-FAMILY: Arial"Click here to get your prize:[/color]/FONT
Header info
Quote:
TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="90%"TBODYTRTD style="FONT-SIZE: 80%; TEXT-INDENT: 4px" noWrapFrom: B id=_user_admin@gmail.comGmail.com <admin@gmail.com>/B TD style="FONT-SIZE: 65%" noWrap align=rightMailed-By: Bserver15.go-mama-hosting.com/B/TD/TR/TBODY/TABLE class=mhlTo: BSPAN class=nw id=_user_gmail-winners@gmail.comGmail Winners <gmail-winners@gmail.com>[/color]/B
class=mhlDate: BJul 1, 2006 1:16 PM/B
class=mhlSubject: BYOU WON $500! Gmail congratulates you!/B

and there`s a gmail.com link that takes you to an area where you add your payment options.
maritimer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-2006, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Google Guru
 
andrew247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: c:\GoogleCommunity
Posts: 3,386
Thanks: 3
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
andrew247 is a glorious beacon of lightandrew247 is a glorious beacon of lightandrew247 is a glorious beacon of lightandrew247 is a glorious beacon of lightandrew247 is a glorious beacon of light
I'm pretty sure Gmail doesn't use "go-mama-hosting.com].
andrew247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 02:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Microsoft Student Partner
Google Guru
 
darrenstraight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 5,787
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
darrenstraight has disabled reputation
Never seen this before but it's clearly fake, what was the link url anyway, don't post it here though, pm it to me, thanks.
__________________
Visit my Tech Blog!
darrenstraight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Google Guru
 
IamTheKing9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 3,000
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
IamTheKing9 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to IamTheKing9 Send a message via Yahoo to IamTheKing9
I'm sure that if it was real, the From: field would have been something like gmail-noreply instead of admin. Plus, Google would write something like "reciepents undisclosed" in the To: field. And I don't suppose sending an e-mail to [email]gmail-winners@gmail.com[/url] forwards the same message to twelve random Gmail accounts.
IamTheKing9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 04:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Noogle
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
maritimer
Just for fun, I decided to click on the link which led me to a framed page pertaining to be gmail, but it was inside a member.tripod page.

Anyways, after entering an old paypal address I don`t use. You then have to sign up for this, sign up for that bla bla. After outlaying close to 30 bucks, they then release your 500 dollars I bet someone would be stupid enough!!

[url="


maritimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 03:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Noogle
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Manny08252000
Send a message via AIM to Manny08252000 Send a message via MSN to Manny08252000 Send a message via Yahoo to Manny08252000
I got the same email. I click on it and it said you had to sign up for something called "Gmail Games" That was a total of $8.60 and it said when you sign up for it then you would recievce your payment. So hopefully it is real because I could use the money but I won't put my information on it just yet until gmail says that it is real.
Manny08252000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Googler
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Removable Drive
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
syed1994
Send a message via AIM to syed1994 Send a message via MSN to syed1994 Send a message via Yahoo to syed1994
A fake. If GMail wanted to give free money, then why they just make a competition on Google AdSense or AdWords
syed1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 01:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Googler
 
sirlaguna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: ALONE IN THE DARK
Posts: 788
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
sirlaguna is an unknown quantity at this point
You should send it to Google with a note on it explaining that it's a fake &amp; that someone is pretending to be Gmail admin!
sirlaguna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 08:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Noogle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: You Kn0w Thats !
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
scoty_and
Send a message via Yahoo to scoty_and
spam, using php mailer
scoty_and is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 04:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Google Guru
 
andrew247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: c:\GoogleCommunity
Posts: 3,386
Thanks: 3
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
andrew247 is a glorious beacon of lightandrew247 is a glorious beacon of lightandrew247 is a glorious beacon of lightandrew247 is a glorious beacon of lightandrew247 is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
spam, using php mailer
Why does it have to be PHP mailer?
andrew247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hasselhoff vs. Cash weddingforasoldier Chit Chat 3 07-11-2006 11:38 PM
Answer this and win a prize! threedollars Games and Quizzes 48 03-03-2006 04:38 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0
© 2004–2007 Google Community