|
||||||||||
|
|||||||
| GoogleCommunity Sponsor |
Use coupon "forum" for 50% Off! |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) | |
|
Elite Googler
![]() |
Email Scams
From what I gather, this forum is just for posting your pet hates and other things that annoy you (tell me if I'm wrong). As no one else has posted, I'll go first.
I just received and email calming to be from some very ill person from the Netherlands. She has some money that she wants me to move around or something. Of course this is completely untrue and if I was to fall for this trick, I would end up loosing a lot of money to this person. I think that the people who have the nerve to do this are some of the most heartless people in this world, they are praying on the stupid. People can't help it if they fall for things easily, and these scamers just feed off this. Anyway, I'll stop blathering on, here is a copy of the email, though: Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
Sponsored Links
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Google Guru
![]() |
This is a scam from somebody who is very sick and who can't even make up a good story. Look at it, she put almost every thinkable bad event possible in it. Look for her name on Google and you will find pages with the same letter and discussions about it.
It just ashame that people actually fall for these kind of scams. Never buy it! It are always scams! A german man actually replied to the email and got more emails back, untill it couldn't be more obvious that it is a scam and he said that to her. You can read it here. http://blog.jodies.de/?p=84
__________________
A letter is like a flower |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |
|
Google Guru
![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
![]() |
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | |
|
Master Googler
![]() |
just got this one today:
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Noogle
![]() Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
![]() |
jebus. i wonder how many (if any) people actually get scammed by these email. on a side note, i searched "MR NELSON APIAH WILLIAMS" on google and the first thing that poped up was this page. just thought that was kinda interesting.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | |
|
Noogle
![]() Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
![]() |
Fresh from my work colleague's inbox
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Noogle
![]() |
eBay and GMail Invites: The evil scamming alliance
From what I've read in this list of postings, most people here would appreciate the experience I had last night trying to get myself a Gmail Invitation via the eBay system. I'll pause here for a second to allow for your laughter at the thought of a newbie being blindly swindled on eBay.
Anyway, I'm not sure how many people here are aware of the fact that eBay is becoming more and more a haven for scammers, especially the type that would think nothing about charging an innocent and naive person like myself $10.50 for one Gmail Invite. The sad part of the story is that after purchasing the Invite and waiting nearly three days for the seller to email me the link, nary an email regarding Gmail arrived in my inbox. In fact, if you just go to eBay and search for Gmail nearly 2000 entries will show up, most of which are fake. This just goes to show you how such a great concept of Gmail can be exploited so easily by the untethered capitalism that eBay promotes. A disturbing trend in all of this is that most of the sellers of these fake invitations are those with very high eBay customer satisfaction ratings, indicating that even the most reliable (according to eBay) can't even be trusted not to rip you off. I felt that everyone would appreciate hearing about the situation of the Gmail Invites on eBay, if not as a warning to those thinking about bidding, then just perhaps as a way to amuse everyone at the financial anguish I suffered in the process. The scamming is out of control, so if anyone reading this is still searching for that "elusive" invite then I would advise you to direct your browser to someplace else than www.ebay.com. Overall I just can't believe how desperate people are to get these Gmail accounts, myself included. You people that already have them should count yourself among the lucky few, for now. Enjoy the privileges and exclusivity. Anyway, to make this long and confusing story short.....avoid eBay Gmail, and treasure the 1GB email account if you have one! Later everyone, Freddy |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Web Hosting Scams - A MUST READ | richy2 | Web Hosting Forum | 28 | 12-14-2007 08:04 PM |
| Help you identify and prevent eBay Scams | private4ever | Site Reviews & Suggestions Forum | 1 | 12-13-2006 04:40 AM |
| GC MSN scams back again? | andrew247 | GC Announcements | 5 | 01-31-2006 03:31 PM |
| Lifetime email not for life - Gmail used to be US Email | intelliot | Gmail Forum | 5 | 08-25-2004 09:33 AM |